Feeding back on some feedback

Recently I have received some feedback from a couple of you lovely readers asking me some questions and so I thought I would post the answers here. Firstly I was contacted by Penny who is also visually impaired and works for Vision Australia. She is hoping to plan some geocaching activities over the summer and wanted to know what I had learned over the course of the year since we started caching. The short answer to that one is a lot… so much in fact that I am in the process of writing a full update on caching as a blind person and will post this as soon as it is finished.

Secondly I was contacted by Mark Weber who lives in Texas in the states…. Oooh get me, feedback from Australia and the good old US of A in the space of a couple of weeks… Mr Global or what. Mark found me through Cacheface which is kind of setting itself up to be facebook for geocachers. I am sure I am not doing it justice but it is all very new to me at the moment and I am still getting my head around how it all works. I will probably post something more about it when I have got to grips with it but if you wanted to plunge straight in and have a look then go to cacheface.social and check it out.
Anyhoo, here are the answers to Mark’s questions…
Q. What sort of caches do you enjoy most?
A. My ideal favourite cache would be a puzzle cache that was devilishly hard but I knew instantly how to solve it. The final would be an ammo can hidden deep in the woods where it was blissfully peaceful away from the sounds of aeroplanes and cars and all the rest of it. That would be perfect. In general I love good sized containers in the woods.

Q. What are some of your geocaching pet peeves?
A. I do tend to be fairly easy going and operate a live and let live attitude, everyone can play the game the way they want but… I sigh inwardly when I see a cache that has obviously not been replaced as it was intended. Maybe the bag the log was in wasn’t sealed properly, or the lid of the cache wasn’t refastened securely, or the cache was just tossed back at the base of a tree and not correctly hidden. I try to treat every cache like it was my own and leave them in the same if not better condition than I found it. When it comes to traditionals you MUST have some reason for bringing me to your cache please. Not just a film pot on a magnet behind the telecoms box outside your house. Lastly I think it is a shame that so many people don’t bother writing much in their logs. I enjoy reading other people’s experiences so much and even more so writing about my own in the logs, but I guess I have a slightly different perspective on things sometimes.

Q. What device do you use to cache?
A. I use an iPhone 4 at the moment. I would love to use a proper GPS but as far as I know there isn’t one that talks and that is essential for me. The iOS platform used in the iPhones and iPads is perfect because it includes the feature called Voiceover that makes the devices talk. I would love to upgrade to an iPhone 5s or a 5 or even a 4s for that matter as the GPS is more accurate in the later models of iPhone but money is tight right now. Sharlene, the other half, uses a Samsung Galaxy Ace android phone running the C-Geo app to cache with and app that I covet greatly but, alas, is not on the iPhone.

Q. What do I think about micros in the woods?
A. Generally I think what a waste. Having said that every situation is different and especially in a series of caches. If you have a set of geocaches set in the woods and a couple of them are micros whilst the rest are small or bigger then that is fine. If your cache is a micro in the woods for a specific reason such as it being part of a more creative hide such as a rope and pulley type cache on a tree then that is also cool but in general like I said surely there are better places to put that micro than in the woods.

Well there you go Mark, I hope that answers your questions. I want to thank Mark and Penny for getting in touch. I love getting comments and feedback on my blog and am always happy to answer any questions or offer an opinion on any subject. It is also bloody nice to know that people are out there and actually reading this stuff. 🙂

This entry was posted in Blindness, Geocaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeding back on some feedback

  1. Kel says:

    Wow, Vision Aust hey? We’ll let Penny know if she wants any local help to give me a shout 🙂 I look forward to your blog to come 🙂

    Like

  2. Kel says:

    Argh. Auto correct…that should have been WELL let Penny know (not we will)

    Like

Leave a Reply

