Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens!

Well the Groundspeak 2015 Road Trip has begun. What the heck am I talking about? well, in a nutshell, it is a series of challenges between now and September 2nd where you can earn shiny souvenirs. The souvenir I can take or leave, obviously their beauty is a bit lost on me, but I am all for something that makes a challenge out of my already enjoyable hobby.

2015roadtripfavouritesChallenge number 1 was to find a geocache with more than 10 favourite points. I did this one without even trying really. When we went out on Sunday we found two caches that fitted the bill but to be honest neither were really worthy of a favourite point, at least not from me. I was cacher number 56,547 in the entire world to earn my souvenir, apparently!

After reading My Favourite Caches which was posted on Muddy Mum’s blog recently I got to thinking about the caches I have awarded my favourite points to and what my criteria is. It is a very subjective issue… what dictates whether a cache gets an FP or not. But that is fine, you can award your favourite points however you like. Some people give them out for location, or the adventure they had finding them, or the container or maybe just because they were in a good mood that day. I will defend, to the death – well ok maybe not death but close, your right to dish out your favourite points however the hell you like.

If I had to single out one common theme amongst the caches that I award points to, it would be that they all make me smile. For whatever reason, perhaps I had to climb a tree, or laughed when I saw the container, or perhaps it was a nice warm cumulative smile achieved at the end of a nice series. If it makes me smile more than normal then it is worthy of consideration. Muddy Mum, I know it seems like I just stole your reason – but it is so true and even though I can’t prove it, I thought of it first 😛

Interestingly my favourite cache of all time, we haven’t even found yet! Last year we started on the epic multi stage cache that is Your Mission and even though we have yet to reach the final stage and sign the log book it has already made me smile so much I would award it 10 favourite points if I could. If you want to read our progress so far check out these Your Mission blog entries. We hope to finish it during the summer this year.

Right groundspeak… bring on the next challenge!

This entry was posted in Geocaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens!

  1. Muddy mum says:

    I know what I’m going to be singing all day now, thanks for that…. 😉
    10 favourite points was far too few. From what I’ve seen of people’s finds so far only those who sought out caches with much higher FPs actually found some great caches. Mostly people have picked it up unintentionally and the caches have not really been all that inspiring.
    How’s your planning going for the rest? I’ve got an event to attend and starting to consider the T or D 5. Hmm

    Like

    • washknight says:

      5.43am!!!??? As for the rest of the challenges well we have 2 events lined up between july and September so that should be cool and as yo probably am sick of hearing we have been doing the Chiltern Hundred series and that has a bonus cache which is a 5/5. It gets that rating simply because you need to do so many caches and get so many codes in order to claim it, we hope to do that in the next month or so. The earth cache and the mystery should not be a problem, we have loads of earth caches around us and puzzle caches coming out of our ears. 🙂

      Like

      • Muddy mum says:

        Good plan. I detest earth caches. Love the places and will visit but I don’t care for the associated faff so never log one. Undecided if I’ll sit that one out or just suck it up and get on with it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

