Pokémon Go? iPhone says Pokémon No!

As a geocacher, the idea of getting out and about with phones in hand is second nature. We were keen to try out what Pokémon Go was all about but sadly our household is rather technology retro at the moment. We were dismayed to discover that neither Shar’s android or Sam’s iPhone 4 stood a chance in hell of running the app. Sam could run it on his iPad but what was the use of that seeing as it has no cellular modem or dedicated GPS chip which means as soon as you stray from the comfort zone of Wi-Fi then you are knackered.

I thought perhaps we might be in luck with my iPhone 4s, but it turns out you need IOS 9 minimum to run the app and I was on 7. I gritted my teeth and took the plunge and ran the update to take it up to 9.037456493.3.2 or whatever the hell arbitrary number Apple have come up for the latest update and to my utter horror, all went well and my phone didn’t become a “brick” during the process. So then we could play Pokémon? Err, no.

Despite plenty of trying and occasional moments of euphoria when we thought it would work, it continued to crash all the time. We spent a frustrating hour in the park constantly loading the app and going strange listening to the annoying music.

Long and short of it is, the app only supports iPhone 5 and above, even if you do manage to get IOS 9 on your 4S, it still ain’t’ gonna work.

So, it looks like I am getting a new phone. Don’t get me wrong, I am NOT upgrading my phone just to play Pokémon. An upgrade has been on the table for a long time now and I have been putting it off until I could emotionally prepare myself for the stress of it all. Blimey I am starting to sound like an old fuddy duddy. It is quite possible that by the time you read this I will be the proud owner of an IPhone SE, although I probably won’t be able to use it because Sam will be “catching em all”

This entry was posted in Geocaching, Tech and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pokémon Go? iPhone says Pokémon No!

  1. hg137 says:

    Well done for trying to load the ‘game of the moment’ on your phones. We know ours aren’t compatible … (steam driven comes to mind!), so we won’t be wandering around, staring at a screen looking for imaginary objects… just real ones!

    Like

    • washknight says:

      Well I have my new iPhone SE now and Shar got a new Android at the same time so we are all set to go now. Sam and Shar love it. I think I am happy to tag along and pick up the urban caches that we have not yet found while they catch Pokemon

      Like

  2. Pingback: Geo-Poké-cach-mon-ing | Washknight – Geocaching Blind

  3. Barb says:

    Same problem for me as I have a 4s – planning to upgrade soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

